Giant Cupcake Pan

I must confess, I’m not a big fan of cake pan molds.  But when I found the giant cupcake mold the other day I was in love.  Ideas just started pouring out of my head.  This cake mold is so versatile.  I wanted a reason to use it and since Dr. Seuss’s birthday was approaching, I thought why not bake a cake in his honor.

As I mention in my last post Dr. Seuss birthday party ideas,  I had a a surprise for my students. I was so excited about baking this cake.  When I presented my second graders  with the cake, they were in awe!  They couldn’t believe that it was a real cake.  They had so many questions about how I made this and how I made that!  I told them I would answer all of their questions before we cut the cake.  So here it is!

The cherry on top is a ball of fondant rolled in red sugar crystals.  It gave it a little bit of sparkle.

The red sprinkles on the cupcake was made by rolling a tiny ball of red fondant and shaping it like a log. I didn’t add too many sprinkles because by that time, I was getting a bit tired.

For the hat, I used 2 different size round cookie cutters.  I stacked and tilted the hat alternating colors.  For the fish bowl, I took some fondant, shaped it like a fishbowl and added a small red fondant fish. The black lines were made from black gel food coloring.  The label”Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss” was made from paper on my computer.

 

Make sure you butter or spray the cake pans so your cake comes out easily.  I use Pillsbury baking spray with flour.  It works great.  Never had a problem.

 

Once the cake was completely cooled, I leveled it right in the pan.  So much easier than removing the cake first. I crumb coated with some frosting and then covered it.  I found it was easier to cover both parts of the cake with fondant before stacking them.  Also, I used a cookie sheet under the cupcake pan and put it in the oven so if there were any overspill of the batter then the pan would catch it.  Less clean up.

 

 

 

To make the cupcake swirl more distinct, I rolled out a long thin fondant log and  placed  it around the top of the cake, covered it in blue fondant and then smoothed in between the swirls with my fingers.

 

The base of the cake was covered in white fondant.  I used a ball tool to give the sides a more defined line around the cupcake.

 

This cake was fun to make.  You can decorate it with any theme ideas, for kids as well as adults.

 

Here are some ideas and inspirations!  Make something sweet!

Cooookie

 

Giant Cupcake

 

Movie night cake! Great idea for big cupcake cake mold. add marshmallows to the top to make the popcorn!

Plant pot cake

 

Leave a Reply

