DINOSAUR CAKE

 

What boy wouldn’t want a dinosaur cake for his birthday?  I remember my nephew being obsessed with dinosaurs when he was little.   I swear he knew the names of all of the dinosaurs, even ones I still can’t pronounce.  I know he would’ve loved the one I’m sharing with you today.

I was asked to bake a dinosaur cake for a boy who is turning 4.  His mom wanted a dinosaur head popping out of the cake.  I thought that was a cool idea.  I wasn’t sure how I was going to make that happen.  But after much thought and research, I decided to make it out of Rice Krispies cereal.

If you’ve never worked with rice Krispies cereal to create objects for your cake, you are in for a real treat.    All you need is three simple ingredients:

1 package of marshmallows

1 tablespoon of Butter

3-4 cups of Rice Krispies cereal

 

Step 1.     Spray a microavable safe dish with a non stick spray.  This will prevent the marshmallows from sticking.

Step 2.     Melt the marshmallows and butter together for about 20 seconds at a time.  You may need to add more or less time depending what size marshmallows you are using.  Keep a close eye on it.

Step 3.     Give it a stir making sure all the marshmallows have melted. Once the marshmallows  are ready, add the Rice Krispies and continue to stir until well blended together.  Before handling it with your hands, let it cool for a few minutes.

Step 4.     Spray your hands with the non stick cooking spray.  This will make it easier to create your mold.  Otherwise, it is a gooey situation.

Step 5.    Create your mold into whatever shape you like. In my case I created a dinosaur head!

 

I love using Rice Krispies because it’s easy to make with just a few ingredients.  Who doesn’t love that?  Besides it tastes great and it is an easy treat for kids.  If you want more fun recipes to make for your kids head on over to ricekrispies.com.  There you will find some great ideas!

 

Rice Krispies Dinosaur Mold

 

Frontal view of Rice Krispies dinosaur mold

Frontal view of Rice Krispies Dinosaur Mold

 

I covered the head with buttercream so I can have a smooth surface to work on, then covered it with green fondant. Next, I  painted it with Kelley green to give it a more saturated green color.  The eyes and teeth were also made out of fondant. I added a red fondant tongue.

IMG_1684

IMG_1686

 

I had to cut the back of the head a bit because it was too big on the cake and adjust the eyes as well.

 

So here is the final product!

 

 

IMG_1716

IMG_1704

Hope you enjoyed this post.  Make something beautiful!

 

Leave a Reply

